Crossworlds

GIBCA Extended Exhibition with regional artists in focus!

Friday 06 September, kl 05:00 pm - Sunday 27 October, kl 05:00 pm

At its 10th edition, Göteborg International Biennial of Contemporary Art (GIBCA) will present a group exhibition showcasing regional artists from Region Västra Götaland as part of its regional network GIBCA Extended.

opening2019_thumbnail

Opening – Part of the Labyrinth

Saturday 07 September, kl 11:00 am - Wednesday 11 September, kl 06:00 pm

GIBCA Opening

2019.09.12.small

Art and the Writing of History

Thursday 12 September, kl 06:00 pm - 07:00 pm

Presentation of artists Lhola Amira and Eric Magassa and panel discussion

2019.1018en

Art at the Bar

Wednesday 18 September, kl 06:00 pm - 07:00 pm

Informal evening lecture on contemporary art

2019.09.20 small

The French Lot: Shedding Light on Swedish Colonial History

Friday 20 September, kl 01:00 pm - 05:00 pm

Lecture and panel discussion on the role of art in interpreting Sweden's colonial history

work-detail.-photo-sissel-m-bergh_tumb_.jpg

White Cube, White Gaze

Saturday 21 September, kl 02:00 pm - 05:00 pm

Presentation from artist Sissel M Bergh, screening of film by Hanni Kamaly and panel discussion

gibca extended poster small

Coast to Coast

Tuesday 24 September, kl 12:15 pm - 12:45 pm

Lunch lecture given by artist Linda Tedsdotter on the project and exhibition Coast to Coast

2019.09.25 small

Podcast "Människan Och Maskinen" Guests Part of the Labyrinth

Wednesday 25 September, kl 07:00 pm - 08:00 pm

Discussion about the history of science and culture

2019.10.02 small

The Center Is the Periphery

Wednesday 02 October, kl 06:00 pm - 08:00 pm

Film screening, performance, and panel discussion on street art and public art

2019.10.08 drawing

Artist talk PIA SANDSTRÖM

Tuesday 08 October, kl 12:15 pm - 12:45 pm

Lunch presentation of a soundproject by Pia Sandström

pia

Göteborgssviten

Tuesday 08 October, kl 05:00 pm - 06:00 pm

Soundwalk of Pia Sandström's sound work Göteborgssviten in Haga

2019.10.09.small

Swedish Colonial History – Abolition of Slavery and Contemporary European Discourses

Wednesday 09 October, kl 05:00 pm - 07:30 pm

Lecture on Sweden's colonial history and Gothenburg's part in Triangular Slave Trade

2019.10.12 small

Power, City, Art: A Walking Tour Through Gothenburg’s Colonial History

Saturday 12 October, kl 02:00 pm - 04:00 pm

City guided tour to explore colonial traces in Gothenburg's architecture

2019.10.12 small_En

Remixing Thoughts

Saturday 12 October, kl 02:00 pm - 03:30 pm

Live podcast and discussion on art and design

2019.10.13 small

Remixing Thoughts: Re-Learning the Pause

Sunday 13 October, kl 02:00 pm - 03:30 pm

Live podcast and discussion on the idea of pause and recovery

2019.1018en

Art at the Bar

Wednesday 16 October, kl 06:00 pm - 07:00 pm

Evening lecture on contemporary art

2019.10.19_thumbnail

Artist Talk: Doireann O’Malley

Saturday 19 October, kl 03:00 pm - 04:00 pm

Artist talk with Doireann O'Malley about transgender studies, science fiction, biopolitics and technology

2019.10.19_small

Donna Haraway – Storytelling for Earthly Survival

Saturday 19 October, kl 03:00 pm - 04:30 pm

Film screening of a documentary on the feminist thinker Donna Haraway

2019.10.22 thumbn

Introduction to the Tenth Edition of GIBCA

Tuesday 22 October, kl 12:15 pm - 12:45 pm

Lunch lecture on the history and the present 10th edition of GIBCA

2019.10.23 small

Artist Talk: Åsa Elzén

Wednesday 23 October, kl 06:00 pm - 07:30 pm

Artist talk with Åsa Elzén about her artwork developed for the biennial and her recent research

2019.10.24_thumbn

Artist Talk: Liv Bugge

Thursday 24 October, kl 06:00 pm - 07:30 pm

Artist talk with Liv Bugge

2019.11.02 small

On the Role of Art in Class Conflict

Saturday 02 November, kl 02:00 pm - 05:00 pm

Panel discussion on Knud Stampe's drawing at SKF, the cultural engagement of unions, and today's labour art

2019.11.05

Art as a Meeting Place

Tuesday 05 November, kl 12:15 pm - 12:45 pm

Lunch lecture on street art

2019.11.07 small

Part of the Labyrinth: Inger Christensen’s Poetic World

Thursday 07 November, kl 06:00 pm - 07:30 pm

Evening lecture given by Marie Silkeberg about Inger Christensen's book Part of the Labyrinth

2019.11.11 small

Artist as Creative Force in Climate Projects

Monday 11 November, kl 05:00 pm - 07:00 pm

Presentation of the project Cultural Adaptations, and discussion about the awareness of climate change

2019.11.13 parse small

PARSE Conference: Human

Wednesday 13 November, kl 12:00 am - Friday 15 November, kl 11:59 pm

Conference organised by the Platform for Artistic Research Sweden at the University of Gothenburg

2019.11.13_thumbnail

Artist Talk: Oliver Ressler

Wednesday 13 November, kl 06:00 pm - 07:30 pm

Artist talk with Oliver Ressler about his film series Everything's Coming Together While Everything's Falling Apart and his experience documenting climate activists

2019.11.14_thumbnail

How Do Museums Write Histories?

Thursday 14 November, kl 06:00 pm - 07:30 pm

Panel discussion on Gothenburg Museum of Natural History and its history of collecting

paolo-cirio_thumbnail.jpg

Artist Talk: Paolo Cirio – Art and Hacktivism

Saturday 16 November, kl 02:00 pm - 03:00 pm

Artist talk with Paolo Cirio on art and hacktivism